AUS curlers capture U SPORTS silver and bronze medals, along with seven individual awards

AUS curlers capture U SPORTS silver and bronze medals, along with seven individual awards

FREDERICTON (U SPORTS) – The Memorial Sea-Hawks men's curling team captured U SPORTS silver Tuesday, while the Dalhousie Tigers women's team won the battle for third to earn bronze. 

Six Atlantic conference student-athletes and one AUS coach earned individual accolades. Three Dalhousie Tigers were named first team all-Canadians and another two players from the Tigers and one from the UNB Reds were named second team all-Canadians. 

Memorial Sea-Hawks head coach Dennis Bruce was named U SPORTS men's curling's Coach of the Year. 

A complete list of award winners is below. 

The Laurentian Voyageurs won the 2019 U SPORTS women’s curling championship, while the Carleton Ravens captured the men’s title.

Laurentian’s Kira Brunton had to draw to the button in the 10th end to beat Brock’s Terri Weeks 7-5.

Cameron Goodkey’s Ravens scored three in the eighth end on route to a 10-4 win over Memorial’s Greg Blyde.

Schedule and Results

In the women’s final, Brunton scored three in the opening end and then limited Weeks’ opportunities through the end.

Brock was able to score two in the third, but the teams would trade singles the rest of the way.

“It feels great,” said Brunton. “We knew the path really well and the girls had judged it a few times and we’d thrown it, so I was confident in it and I was confident in my girls.”

The Ravens used the hammer to score a single in the opening end before taking two in the third, fifth and sixth ends.

Carleton’s three in the eighth prompted the Sea-Hawks to shake hands.

It’s the first men’s national curling championship for the Ravens.

“It’s been the goal for the past three years, so to get there feels really good,” said Goodkey adding the single in the first end set the tone and his steal of two in the sixth end proved to be a turning point.

“Steals don’t come easy. We set that end up nice, and fortunately got a good miss from him.”

In the bronze medal games, the Alberta Golden Bears scored a 7-3 win over the Dalhousie Tigers to finish third on the men’s side, while Dalhousie’s Kaitlyn Jones scored one in the 10th end to beat Queen’s 6-5 for third in the women’s tournament.


1 Dalhousie Tigers (6-1)
2 Queen's Gaels (5-2)
3 Brock Badgers (5-2)
4 Laurentian Voyageurs (5-2)
5 Alberta Pandas (4-3)
6 Mount Allison Mounties (2-5)
7 UNB Reds (1-6)
8 Regina Cougars (0-7) 

1 Dalhousie Tigers (6-1)
2 Carleton Ravens (5-2)
3 Alberta Golden Bears (5-2)
4 Memorial Sea-Hawks (4-3)
5 UNB Reds (3-4)
6 Western Mustangs (3-4)
7 Brock Badgers (2-5)
8 Lethbridge Pronghorns (0-7) 


(1) Dalhousie 2, (4) Laurentian 8
(2) Queen's 5, (3) Brock 6 

(1) Dalhousie 3, (4) Memorial 10
(2) Carleton 8, (3) Alberta 6 


Final: (3) Brock 5 vs (4) Laurentian 7
Bronze: (1) Dalhousie 6, (2) Queen's 5 

Final: (2) Carleton 10 vs (4) Memorial 4
Bronze: (1) Dalhousie 3, (3) Alberta 7 

(*AUS student-athletes in bold)


First Team All-Canadians
Lead: Kristin Clarke, Dalhousie
Second: Karlee Burgess, Dalhousie
Third: Calli Barclay, Queen’s
Skip: Terri Weeks, Brock 

Second Team All-Canadians
Lead: Jillian Crandall, UNB

Second: Kate Goodhelpsen, Alberta
Third: Lauren Lenentine, Dalhousie
Skip: Kaitlyn Jones, Dalhousie 

Fox 40 Coach of the Year: Scott Davey, Queen’s

R.W. Pugh Fair Play Award: Mary Fay, Queen’s


First Team All-Canadians
Lead:  Doug Thomson, Brock
Second: Jeffrey Meagher, Dalhousie
Third: Mackenzie Calwell, Carleton
Skip: Karsten Sturmay, Alberta 

Second Team All-Canadians
Lead: Andrew Berg, Western
Second: Morgan Calwell, Carleton
Third: Chris Kennedy, Alberta
Skip: Cameron Goodkey, Carleton 

Fox 40 Coach of the Year: Dennis Bruce, Memorial

R.W. Pugh Fair Play Award: Ward Marshall, Lethbridge

Source: U SPORTS Communications

View: Mobile | Desktop